Simple Almond Flour Waffles

I love a good waffle just as anyone, but unfortunately when you go away, most waffle mixes available to you are highly processed, and chocked full of ingredients I can’t understand.

As you can probably guess, I haven’t been eating waffles at school since I got there. And that makes me incredibly sad!

Waffles have been a huge part of my life ever since I started to recover from anorexia two years ago, and they have stuck in my life as I have continued to grow my interests in cooking and holistic food choices. I have constantly upped my game, and am always searching for new recipe including fewer, more complex ingredients to make the perfect, crispy waffle (as I like mine!).

This morning, I craved a darn waffle and I knew I wanted to try something with an almond flour base as I tried Simple Mills over Thanksgiving break and fell in love with the concept of it. I decided this morning would be the morning to give it a shot, and boy am I glad I did!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Few mistakes were made: forgot to oil my waffle makes (DUHHHH!), and I also forgot to top with pure maple syrup…. THE STRUGGLE OF MY LIFE, FRIENDS.

Don’t worry, they’re still amazing no matter if they need to be yanked from the maker or you just eat them plain (dipped in black coffee, anyone?). Waffles are waffles, no matter how messy your morning turns out to be.

img_5362
Poor Walter!

Simple Almond Flour Waffles

Makes: 3 small waffles, or one large

Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C. plus 2 TBSP. Almond flour (I used Almond Pro)
  • 1/4 C. Unsweetened almond milk (Califia Farms)Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
  • 2 Egg whites
  • 1 tsp. Ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking soda
  • 1/2 TBSP. Coconut sugar
  • 1 tsp. Pure vanilla extract
  • 1-2 TBSP. Coconut oil

*optional toppings:  banana, blueberries, pure maple syrup, nut butter, etc….*


  1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Make sure they are all consistently blended together. I like to use a fork to press them into each other.
  2. Melt coconut oil into the waffle maker (unlike I did!) to ensure the waffles come right off!
  3. Evenly divide your batter into three parts as you cook your waffles.
  4. Top those babies right away with any fruit or nut butter, pure maple syrup, honey  , etc…. and dig a fork in while they’re still hot!

tumblr_inline_n42vs2ntcb1qdueo0

Leave a comment