Banana Bread Muffie Cups

Muffies. Bread in a cup. Muffin. Whatever you call ’em, you know that they’re damn good.

I’ve always liked muffins quite a bit, and lately, they’ve been super helpful for snackin’ and quick add-ons to breakfast when I’m in a hurry. But a lot of packaged muffins are chocked full of nasty ingredients, sugar-loaded, and plain gross. I figured, it’s time to bring out my own muffins to supply my family with while we trudge through the week.

I started simple, taking minimal ingredients that I love and flavors to match so that I wasn’t creating some random muffin that tasted funky at first bite. They ended up being almost vegan, and gluten free! What a plus!

IMG_0849.JPG

I love using oats, but I didn’t necessarily want the grittiness of whole oats in these muffins. Therefore, I turned my Nutri-bullet on, and threw in some rolled oats to make the flour for the recipe. And since I really like the subtle coconut taste, I added some organic coconut flour to the oat flour.

Like I said, simple ingredients that ADD the flavor, so you don’t have to! Better yet, these are moist and chewy, the way a muffin should be.


Banana Bread Muffie CupsSnapseed (2)

Makes 8-10 muffins


Ingredients:

  • 1 C. Oat flour
  • 2 TBSP. Coconut flour
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1 flax egg (1 TBSP. ground flax, 2 TBSP. water)
  • 4 TBSP. Coconut oil (melted, 1 TBSP. used to grease pan)
  • 2 TBSP. honey or pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • Dash of cinnamon and salt
  • 2/3 C. nut milk ( I used Califia Farms)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F
  2. Combine the flax mixture together and let sit until the other ingredients have been added.
  3. Mash your banana in a bowl with a fork
  4. Add both flours, baking soda and powder, cinnamon and salt to the banana. Stir until just mixed.
  5. Now add your coconut oil, sweetener, flax egg, and nut milk of choice. Mix the ingredients together until you get a thick, creamy consistency.
  6. Use 1 TBSP. coconut oil to grease your muffin tin. Fill each cup 2/3 the way up, leaving space for them to grow a little.
  7. Place the muffins in the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. After 20 minutes, take them out to check, and if needed, add the five minutes on.
  8. Let cool for 10 minutes, and then enjoy!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
I ate mine with homemade breakfast quinoa!

 

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread Muffie Cups

Leave a comment